Even Though I Hit It I Don’t Miss You


Disclaimer* All Things I write are subject to artistic creation.
I’ve never gutted anyone nor has anyone gutted me.

I don’t feel all that much on this, as you gut me of intestines.
Sprawled out on your couch I could use a real inspiration.

Are you one of those new waves?
You know the type that don’t crash at all;
They just keep on going towards nothings
Fizzle out afraid to hit the shore!

It’s a tragedy; The only people diving in are jokers.
All the intelligent fools are jaded
They didn’t like how the feelings made them hurt
So they brush them off and learn to love the cold.
There’s a fire in here and they hover by the stove.

I’ve always been so foolish,
Rash decisions to a dead head
Say baby, damn it’s cold outside!
Let that freeze chill into the bark on the trees,
You’re skin can take hits like that, but there’s no need,
The only hits you should feel are drugs like me,
So come over inside for some boot knocking,
I’m not talking shoe shopping,
Down for coming, but not out of pocket;
Watch it, always time for them good vibes
Like clockwork I know how your cogs work,
Do it slow to the sunrise, covered in sunlight,
I’ll make waves in your harbor and rock them ships,
40 days and nights when it’s done
Only I’ll have to apologize on account of Cupid’s aim – He only grazed me

Spend enough time on something and you’ll love or hate.

25 thoughts on “Even Though I Hit It I Don’t Miss You

  1. Certainly kept my attention, and certainly each line unexpected! I’d call it pretty good poetry – if you can take a hit like that 🙂 Enjoyed this a lot…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ahoffine says:

    I really liked this! It flowed but kept surprising. The exclamation point at the end of the second stanza threw me off and I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anisanur93 says:

    oh my god, beautiful.

    Like

  4. footnotepoet says:

    this is really great writing. really elegantly crafted. I love reading stuff like this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sandrabranum says:

    I really like this and it strangely applies to what I’m going through right now. As you sort of said, spend enough time together and you either love or hate. I hope after my son and daughter-in-law move out we feel love and not the other.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bmick says:

    Reblogged this on Nuclear Polio Vaccination and commented:
    Real Spit.

    Like

  7. sthewriter says:

    I appreciate the “like” on my latest post. Respect due your way.

    Like

  8. yangmuffins says:

    This is an amazing piece. I like your style and technique! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ” There is a fire in here and they hover by the stove…” wonderful!

    Like

  10. Verses with twists makes the best poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you for liking my post! I thought I’d have a little read of yours and a little read turnt into several others lool, i love this, i love the way you write! It’s amazing i wish i would write like this

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I really appreciate so much of what you are writing (I just chose to comment on this one) Just the aesthetic, and the deliverance really conveys a passion and almost a yearning that speaks to me. Really neat stuff! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do appreciate your kind words, and am glad you can derive enjoyment from them just as me. My hopes in writing them is to speak to myself, but the fact that it goes beyond that and speaks to others is an entirely next level feeling 🙂

      Thank you for taking your time to read,
      -IV

      Like

Leave a Reply

