We Grew Up Through The Cracks; Our Limbs Wrapped Like Vines Around Olympus


I know what this will do to you. You have to know me by this, time is irrelevant. You know me.

I seen her undressed of course; that first time you were hanging, your neck so far off the edge of desire you could see the River Styx inches from your face, unsure of which side you found yourself on because there was no way it could still be the mortal realm – You’ve been wrong before, this was one of those times – You learned just how great the realm of flesh could be at it’s peak; Certainly it crossed into the realm of divinity. I seen into those mirrors. I seen the eyes of a god peering into those of the goddess. The real immortality was how long you could stay in one moment; Standing on the mirror like surface of a vast body of water far longer than natural law allowed; The slow draw of a bow string while the nimrod marks his aim, hanging like the pull from a final kiss before parting for the afterlife – You try to catch the breath, with quivering lips, in hopes of pulling their entire soul into yours one last time.

Lessing could not believe that man was born with a thirst for
knowledge only to be damned for attempting to slake his thirst;
Quite frankly neither can I.

As soon as we realize that we are dying to take the greatest risk,
we begin to live, for we naturalize and know that only now exists.
Nothing is forever, you can not put time in the bank for a next day,
The only return you can get on time is to be here in this moment!
So go for it, risk the wilderness, find the treasures of life abound;
and remember now, to appreciate it all while accumulating none.

The last time always goes so far as to mislead you that it isn’t the last time. That doesn’t change its nature though. It was, and truly that is all. You want me to laugh? I might if you’re funny. I might if you touch me. I’ll write you music, but it will take me some time, if you would but give it the silence needed. I’ll work tirelessly till it erupts from my soul; from the silence will spill beauty in notes bold and captivating, but It will take me time – If you would but give me the silence needed.

I’ve been looking God in his eyes,
all this time I was in his mind,
And it’s a dark place sometimes,
Always breaking light to find I,
Here I’ve been ignoring my,
Desire its my ire, got me burning,
While I feed this fire
lay it down, so I can burn it down,
put it down so you can drop it down
Rising up so the stars can take us home
Night shadows, like lost meadows
Here we are lost in times tempo
Kissing the lock of buried treasure,
Bring you up, its the next level,
This chambers loaded,
I’m dancing with your devils
Dangerous; It’s the telos.

This is just terrible. I am enraptured by your wonderful sounds. Just absolutely soothing; easing the tremors in my weary soul – Even if for several mellifluous moments. Will you dance in the rain free of restraint; Or will you wonder what might have evolved from this swirl of blood and water? It’s funny, We shower off and I don’t feel so much. Are you trembling – Is it because of you or me

53 thoughts on “We Grew Up Through The Cracks; Our Limbs Wrapped Like Vines Around Olympus

  1. cote8050 says:

    Wow, your work is mesmerizing… I am new at this and so love reading the art of someone with your talent.. thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know who you’re writting for, as I’ve just began following your prose/poetry, but for your sake, I hope they’re listening. If you write simply for yourself, then well done you. Phenomenal writing. Majestic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Doug says:

    really interesting ….” dance in the rain free of restraint” top shelf

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mikeytbull says:

    Great words IV. Some lovely phrases like “The real immortality was how long you could stay in one moment” inspiring for lyric ideas. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I had more time I’d write songs too 😉

      Like

    • I actually started out wanting to write songs… but I guess things take turns

      Like

      • FLLOH says:

        I know what you mean about time management issues. I would love to draw the artwork to my books, I just don’t have the time. A lot of my work that i write starts off in one direction, detours to another.

        Your poetry is heart felt. Powerful words and metaphors, i dig it my man. I encourage you to check out my short-stories and Novel’s. Most of my poetry is reserved for my writing.

        https://mikezip1.wordpress.com/

        I’m happy i took the time to view your work. Was very inspiring, can’t wait to read more!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Right? You can only ever take it one way at a time. Usually don’t have time to go back and take a different path. Ends up we must start anew down the road and forge ahead to where it goes! I will indeed take a look, glad you enjoyed what I have to offer, glad you felt the fire.

        Thanks,
        -IV

        Like

      • mikeytbull says:

        It’s never too late! Do you play an instrument? I love Neil Finn because of his amazing lyrics and of course his melodies!

        Like

      • Still working on playing instruments. At some point I will be able to say that I do!

        It’s definitely an amazing feel to create sound that moves the mind and body together

        Liked by 1 person

  5. lucieguerre says:

    I, like the rest of the people commenting, am absolutely mesmerized by your words. You have a beautiful, unique way of expressing yourself. I am currently working on self-publishing a book of my poetry, but, man, just your thoughts are poetic. I am amazed at the beauty and the pain held within each word. Stunning. Stellar example of language as art.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. M's Journey says:

    I am fascinated by the style of your writing. It is sort of a lyrical, deep subconscious, but very articulate, self dialogue. I am still learning to better grasp it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. George says:

    Nicely done, especially the was you ended it. Great last line.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. woundstofeel says:

    Amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. timatimeline says:

    This is an amazing piece

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You are really a very gifted person. Enjoy your writing immensely. Glad I located and am now following your website.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. “As soon as we realize that we are dying to take the greatest risk,
    we begin to live, for we naturalize and know that only now exists.
    Nothing is forever, you can not put time in the bank for a next day,
    The only return you can get on time is to be here in this moment!
    So go for it, risk the wilderness, find the treasures of life abound;
    and remember now, to appreciate it all while accumulating none”

    (Long exaggerated sigh) Your going to get me into trouble with the above quote from your piece. GLADLY!

    I purposely wait for the little one to go to sleep, to slooooowly read your writing. I have no shame in admitting that. It is like a late night chocolate indulgence…..but even better! Thanks for making so many readers, REALLY need their privacy. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow I’m really glad you enjoy my writing so much. I find myself reading it the same way myself – I think we getting too deep. Shit I’m talking might be too true.

      Liked by 1 person

      • 😀 Not too deep….it is the true affect of excellent writing. If your writing stirs up the emotions anticipated, you are being true to yourself and your audience. Why write if you can not make people feel every word, and every meaning of the words used. If you right about a flower……I want to be able to smell it while I am reading. If you are writing about the ocean, I want to feel the breeze, the water and waves splashing on my skin, and taste the salt water. I think it is so human of us to be taken back by the affects of our own words, when the affects and feelings are being expressed by people other than ourselves. I like reading your writing because it hits the soul and the deepest thoughts of man. Most of us are uncomfortable with that……I am learning how to not be. Keep doing what you do. Keep getting deep! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  12. not right….write

    Like

  13. Ok. This is … amazing. Are you sure you are not a god? I’m sure you are. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This is so amazing,you really know how to captivate your readers.I was so glued to my PC screen and I couldn’t stop myself from reading every word you have written.Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Many thanks
    Maditjhaba

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Rise above says:

    Absolutely epic my friend

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate your compliment ! I intend for everything I write to strike the chords a certain way; I think I’ve managed it with this one.

      Perhaps when I get a few more viewers I’ll post the next ‘installment’ 😉

      Maybe sooner?
      Thanks,
      -IV

      Like

  16. ajoy_art says:

    I am looking forward to reading this later this evening!
    I just posted my finished poem, I would love to hear your thoughts on it. I have to run now, ciao! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. beulah888 says:

    Olympus should be pleased. 🙂

    This flows with love of the Divine.

    “Our limbs wrapped like vines…” Never mind the cracks; they are the spaces given that we may live.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. ajoy_art says:

    It is the best feeling dancing in the rain..
    Again, this post captured me and I went on a journey with my morning coffee.. I’m back now with a smile. Such a beautiful way to start my day..
    Words are powerful and you know how to use them.. Be careful with this gift 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  19. KanikaR says:

    Reblogged this on Sempiternal Eternity and commented:
    Check out this blog! I adore the posts and the poetry- Believe me, they can even make sociopaths feel. And the beautiful drawings are just an added, aesthetically pleasing bonus!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I like the line about being in God’s mind and that it might be a dark place. Thanks for sharing your thoughts in poems you are very intriguing!

    Like

  21. Heartafire says:

    Stunning writing, fabulous! the pull from a final kiss …yes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

