Not Something We Could Continue To Drink From


So you failed to do the one thing that would allow you two to communicate again in the future?

I want to admit something here. There is no guilt attached to this – I suppose this requires changing the initial stance. To admit something one usually attaches a bit of reluctance. I’m making my statement; I’ve made a lot of choices, and they all keep rushing by as the breeze does. They pass as the breath through your lips, and they are past. A season for nurturing, for growing, for learning, all one in the cycle of becoming – The wonder at this stage is where have I not gone? I’ve long been up in these clouds laying around trying to be down to some type of reality that fits my sense of originality, but the case is strong that you; Yes, you are not reality. The way you use words though are as hard hitting as an upset fist against my walls; Unrelenting… Without pull, I follow through. Place your open palm hungry upon this cage and listen for that faint faith, that sign of the eternal sun… that eased hand will bring you to balance.

I wanna kiss you,
Worthy of my words,
To feel soothed,
Drowned in rhyme,
This river of lines
Flowing, caressing,
Harnessing the power,
Of what beats in these chests
And you are the chalice,
You are the peak,
Of the highest mountain,
The truest of my soul,
The mirror you do hold,
Far more value
Than all the world’s gold
And it is intrinsic, within you,
I want to kiss you,
Beauty in the temple
To go further is natural,
Climbing up, you are such,
That gives me courage,
To press off the demons,
To look them in their eyes
And tell them they’re defeated
I want to kiss you,
Staring into your light
Like eternal sunshine,
Of the spotless mind
You help me live,
Without the fear of sin
Like I’m staring down the sun
Till my eyes, No longer match the sky
I want to kiss you,
Even if it meant I’d lose sight,
For to see your beauty
I do not need my eyes,
No my mind can draw you,
Awe inspiring, in perfect hue,
Yes I do, know that you
Want me to kiss you,
Not at the temple walls,
Nor on its steps or at it’s door,
But within on the altar,
Where we can come to love
So open up, I want to kiss you,
Again like dew says to the morning sun,
Warm me with your rays,
Gently with your touch,
This is magic, this is essence,
This is the spiritual quintessence
Highest of the high,
Melded with the sky,
With time and space,
Waves that make our bodies shake,
I want to kiss you,
Under all the stars,
Before we find the calm,
Looking up and we are gone,
To the farthest reaches,
still in touch, our lips,
They want to proclaim
The greatest bliss,
Yours and mine one ship

You’ve got to step down baby. Do you know what is over that line? Do you know what’s it is like to forget the passing of time? I am not in a position to say anything about what you can handle. I’m just giving fair notice. I’m sure of myself. I can’t be sure of you. I keep myself balanced, I know me; How far I go one way is what I must travel, and if I’ve ever delivered you anything less than that then you need to check your compass – I know what I have weathered. I’d say it’s the altered mind states speaking again, but I haven’t had the good stuff in quite a while. I haven’t enticed venom from the viper’s fangs for what seems to be a mess of days blurred together long enough to place outside short term memory. I’ve been feeling again – We almost never intend the worst case, but I meant it. Now hold your curiosity; You don’t want to imbibe this yet.

I could hold you,
but that would be untrue,
I won’t show you,
What things keep me up
What’s your tune,
I want you to stay fooled
As long as noon,
by then we’re out of bed.
A long line dreaded,
I hear you’ve felt heaven,
In which direction,
Do you see me headed
I took a breath,
And awoke intoxicated,
I’m certain now,
I’ll keep drinking forever

When the well becomes poisoned,
do you keep drinking from the fountain?

22 thoughts on “Not Something We Could Continue To Drink From

  1. Kure Yoga says:

    That was beautiful! Intoxicating!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. woundstofeel says:

    It’s going to take me some time to fully grasp this poem, but I felt it sure enough. I think I get it, because it resonates with me… in some way. You’re very talented.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. impostorpawn says:

    that poetry was so smooth,lost myself in it and found reality at the end.And the narrative,the icing on the cake.WOW,good stuff

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. I piece it together that way with the intent of everything complimenting so that we end up with a whole that is greater than the sum of it’s parts!

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on it,
      -IV

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ajoy_art says:

    Such an Intoxicating and rhythmic piece.. Love it 🙂
    I think a few sips from the fountain isn’t too bad.. We all desire the things that aren’t good for us…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reblogged this on Seanagh Gamgee's Blog and commented:
    Such an intensely beautiful piece of writing – had to share!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ASH says:

    A tumbling through the hard external shell into the underground ocean.
    I felt rolled in the surf, rising gasping, to be swept again into undertones.
    The well and the fountain.
    Poison is too much medicine.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shambhavi31 says:

    Beautiful poetry! 🙂 and I guess you too seem to like ‘Eternal Sunshine Of A Spotless Mind’. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. To read your blogs are better than that of 50 Shades of Gray! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. KVision says:

    Art of Hypnosis…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. “I do not need my eyes….

    Beautiful lines with a lot of feelings

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Liz says:

    Thank you for another great read. I couldn’t possibly dive into my thoughts about your writings . There are too many and all far too deep for
    my written or verbal abilities. You have a gift that I truly enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. elainelives says:

    I could keep reading all day…beautiful words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

